About us

Our club is in Rotary District 9350 and was chartered in 1962. It currently has about 45  permanent members. In addition we have a number of “swallow” members – Rotarians who spend part of the year in Knysna and part of the year in their home country.

The club is a vibrant and active club, committed to working tirelessly along the Rotary principle of Service above Self. The club has raised millions of rands through the annual Rotary Knysna Cycle Tour, which is a major event of the Knysna Oyster Festival, as well as through our annual Golf Weekend. The funds raised from these events support our many community programmes and projects in the Knysna district.

The Rotary Four-Way Test guides Rotarians in all activities and behaviour:
Of the things we think, say or do
1. Is it the truth?
2. Is it fair to all concerned?
3. Will it build goodwill and better friendship?
4. Will it be beneficial to all concerned?

The Rotary Grace
For food, friends, fellowship and the opportunity to serve, we thank you, O Lord. Make us ever mindful of those less fortunate than ourselves. Amen.

The Object of Rotary
The object of Rotary is to encourage and foster the ideal of service as a basis of worthy enterprise and, in particular, to encourage and foster:

First: The development of acquaintance as an opportunity for service.
Second: High ethical standards in business and professions, the recognition of the worthiness of all useful occupations, and the dignifying by each Rotarian of his/her occupation as an opportunity to serve society.
Third: The application of the ideal of service in each Rotarian’s personal, business and community life.
Fourth: The advancement of international understanding, goodwill and peace through a world fellowship of business and professional persons united in the ideal of service.

Every Tuesday at 12:30 for 13:00 at the Knysna Yacht Club, Waterfront, Knysna. NOTE: DUE TO COVID PROTOCOLS WE ARE CURRENTLY MEETING ON ZOOM (Aug 2021)

Rotarian fellowship is an important part of the club and serves to forge strong bonds of cooperation and loyalty.

Board Members 2020/2021
President: Albert Lombaard
Past President: Andrew Finn
Secretary: Julie Staub
Treasurer: Clive Wilkinson
Club Administration: George Coon
Service Projects: Henry Fairweather
Youth Services: Herb Hunter
Rotary Foundation: Clive Reed
Environment: Judy-Marié van Noordwyk
Public Image: Carol Wilkinson
Membership: Owen Govender
Rotary Anns President: Jean Allan

Updated August 2021

Follow us on Facebook

Fundraising projects

Knysna Cycle Tour

Golf Tournaments